Elections & Rules Committee

Autumn 2018 Elections

College Council Class of 2022

  • Zebeeb Nuguse: 258

  • David Liang: 203

  • Anya Wang: 191

  • Alex Pu: 160

  • Laureen Akram: 158

  • Max Pizer-Lippitz: 151

  • John Kunzo III: 126

  • Warren Niles: 101

  • Write-In Candidate 1: 99

  • Thomas Weil: 80

  • Justin Smith: 62

  • Nick Ding: 62

  • Jiale Li: 56

  • Write In Candidate 2: 33

  • Alan Zhao: 31

  • Write In Candidate 3: 19

  • Abstain: 16

  • Write In Candidate 4: 10

College Council Petition

Autumn 2018 Candidates Packet

Reminder to attend the Mandatory Candidates Meeting on Tuesday, 10/9, at 5:15PM in Cox Lounge. Copies of the Candidates Packet will be provided.

Please contact the Elections & Rules Committee Chairwoman, Taylor Fox, at taylorfox@uchicago.edu with any questions.

E&R thank our Chairman-Emeritus, Max Freedman for his service.

Spring 2018 Referendum Results (ELRA Repeal) 

Total turnout: 1710; Undergraduate: 1247; Graduate: 463

Vote breakdown: Yes: 1138 (66.54%); No: 531 (31.05%); Abstain: 42 (2.46%)

Spring 2018 Referendum:

Voting in the referendum on the ELRA will occur via Blueprint from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm on Friday, June 8th.


Total Turnout: 1764

Executive Slate: 

  • Unite: 842

  • Moose: 408

  • Abstain: 459

  • Write-in: 56

Graduate Liaison to the Board of Trustees:

  • Chris Stamper: 176

  • Abstain: 57

  • Write-in: 13

Undergraduate Liaison to the Board of Trustees:

  • Kyle Shishkin: 419

  • Brittney Dorton: 358

  • Pule Nkopane: 291

  • Abstain: 323

  • Write-in: 128

Community and Government Liaison:

  • Marlin Figgins: 992

  • Abstain: 656

  • Write-in: 114

College Council Class of 2019:

  • Ayling Dominguez: 186

  • Brett Barbin: 141

  • Bruce Li: 42 (write-in)

  • Daphne Xu: 17 (write-in)

  • Michael Sitver: 16 (write-in)

  • Andrew Longwell: 14 (write-in)

  • Matthew Sparks: 12 (write-in)

  • Rahmel Robinson: 10 (write-in)

  • Diego Ruiz: 9 (write-in)

  • Other candidates received fewer than 5 votes each.

College Council Class of 2020:

  • Jahne Brown: 240

  • Rachel Abrams: 185

  • Matthew Robinson: 179

  • Eugene Miravete: 49 (write-in)

  • Ridgley Knapp: 45 (write-in)

  • Jaida Nabayan: 14 (write-in)

  • Other candidates received fewer than 10 votes each.

College Council Class of 2021:

  • Tony Ma: 278

  • Myles Hudson: 250

  • Raven Rainey: 247

  • Alex Levi: 245

  • Brian Johnson: 147

  • Matthew Pinna: 106

Graduate Council - Humanities:

  • Josephine "Jo" Brill: 16

  • Erol Koymen.


Check back regularly for notice about forthcoming E&R meetings. 


Wednesday, April 11th, 2018

Election By-Laws, Code, and Candidates Packet:

The Election By-Laws, and Election Code provide guidelines for candidates and the Election and Rules Committee. Candidates should familiarize themselves with the Candidates Packet, which contains the House Rules as well as the Code and By-Laws, and helpful information. In choosing to run, candidates agree to follow the rules and interpretations enumerated in the Candidates Packet. Note the information in the Candidates Packet has been updated by E&R. Please review the linked documents as they have changed from last year. 

Timeline of the Spring 2018 Elections:

  • Thursday, March 29th: Forthcoming petition availability announced via university-wide email.

  • Thursday, April 5th: Petitions available at sg.uchicago.edu/elections at 9:00 am CDT.

  • Wednesday, April 11th: Petitions due 9:00 – 5:00 pm CDT in Reynolds 016. Neither early nor late petitions will be accepted except for digitally submitted Graduate Council petitions.

  • Friday, April 13th: Mandatory Candidates Meeting from 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm CDT in the South Lounge of Reynolds Club. The South Lounge is on the second floor across from Hallowed Grounds. Candidates unable to make this meeting must make alternate arrangements with the Chair prior to petition submission.

  • Monday, April 16th through Friday, April 20th: Candidates table in Reynolds.

  • Monday, April 23rd: Slates and Liaison candidates debate in Graduate Council.

  • Wednesday, April 25th: Slates and Liaison candidates debate in front of a university wide audience at 6:30 PM CDT in Kent 107.

  • Friday, April 27th: Candidate solicitation period on the Quad in front of Swift Hall. The solicitation period opens at 12:30 pm.

  • Monday, April 30th: Voting opens at 10:00 am CDT on Blueprint. Ballot links will be emailed to the Student Association.

  • Wednesday, May 2nd: Voting closes at 4:30 pm CDT on Blueprint.

  • Wednesday, May 2nd: E&R will convene at 4:30 pm in Reynolds 016 in order to tabulate votes. A cake cutting and press conference will follow.

The following positions will be filled in the 2018 Spring General Elections:

[ Open All | Close All ]

Executive Slate:
The Executive Slate is made up of the President, the Vice President for Administration, and the Vice President for Student Affairs. They are elected together each year in the spring, and are collectively responsible for the administration of Student Government. They represent graduate and undergraduate concerns to the University administration, oversee organizational projects and initiatives, and are responsible for the management of the SG budget.

Liaisons to the Board of Trustees:
The Undergraduate and Graduate Liaisons to the Board of Trustees represent their respective constituency to the Board of Trustees. They are responsible for keeping students informed about the actions of the Board of Trustees.

Community and Government Liaison:
The Community and Government Liaison represents the Student Association to members of the community, and work to get students more involved in Hyde Park, Woodlawn, and the South Side in general. The Liaison serves as an ex-officio member on the Community Service Fund, and serves as SG's representative to the University Community Service Center.

College Council and Graduate Council Representatives:
The College Council and Graduate Council Representatives represent their respective class year or school or division to the above bodies and voice concerns on behalf of their constituents.

At this time, Graduate Council Representatives are elected by their divisions in separate elections processes from the Spring General Elections. At this time, BoothBSDDivinityGrahamHarris, IMEPritzkerPSDSSA, and SSD have chosen to operate their own elections for Graduate Council Representatives through their divisional student governments, their dean's councils, or their area dean of students. Students in those divisions will receive notification by their local election authority at least two weeks prior to when their Graduate Council Elections will occur. E&R; will conduct the Law School's elections in the Autumn Quarter.

Additionally, E&R will conduct Graduate Council Elections for Representatives from the Humanities Division in the Spring and Autumn pursuant to the standard rules with modifications as noted in the Humanities Election Code. A fact sheet about Humanities' special election protocol can be found here.

More information about these positions can be found in the Governing Documents

Past Elections and Referenda:

Results and hearings from past elections can be found here


Referenda Petitions